The Pub Discussion Board

Get your favorite beverage, sit back, and join in the discussion

You are not logged in.

#1 2007-08-24 20:48:09

Erosscribe
Tipsy

Newbie here

Hi all. 

I  just got here a few  minutes ago. First of all, I've been reading the boards.  I don't want to  fan  the flames ,  but what the heck is an EWP, anyway? Secondly ,  I'm  at a stuck point here .  I  had an  idea  for, well,    a novel.  The inspiration,  oddly enough , was  Louisa May Alcott. Little Women , Jo's Boys , take your  pick.   Here's the concept: In  the Alcott novels,  ( to oversimplify horribly)  you  have  families and their friends.  Undereducated , poor folks -- salt of the earth types--  who farm and  cook  and knit.  Against the odds, love and hard work  keep them together .

Fine.  Let's keep the family  and the love parts, and flip  the script on the rest.  Let's   make them  of this period , just  like Alcott wrote about  her time. Let's make them overeducated  and  (in some cases )  independently wealthy.  Instead of farming and  cooking and knitting, let's   have them  go  to school,  travel and have sex. All  sorts of sex. Incest ,  first-time sex,   orgies ,  bi  sex,  straight sex,  gay sex, multigenerational  sex --  even some light BDSM. Instead  of   generations of landowning, what about generations of incest?

So  I'm   going along  writing this story. The first two  chapters, approximately 27  pages , have  no sex whatsoever, simply setup. It's only  on page 6 of chapter 3- where I'm  currently stuck-   that there is anything resembling a sex scene- and  writing the actual  sex sections makes me giggle half the time.  It's  all  I can  do  not  to put  down "He drove his pneumatic drill  into  her dark mine shaft again and again.."  or some other piece of horribly purple prose.